Bad Feminist Tour Dates

August 6, Lansing, MI, Schuler Books, 7 pm

August 7, Ann Arbor, MI, Literati Bookstore, 7 pm

August 7, Milwaukee, Boswell Books, 7 pm

August 27, Chicago, Women & Children First, 7:30 pm

August 29, St. Louis, Left Bank Books, 7 pm

September 21, NYC, Brooklyn Book Festival, TBA

September 21, NYC, Book Court, 7pm

September 22, NYC, TBA

September 23, NYC, Harper Perennial 50th Anniversary, Housing Works, 7pm

September 24, Berkeley, CA, Mrs. Dalloway’s (w/ Ayelet Waldman), 7:30 pm

September 25, San Francisco, CA, City Lights, 7 pm

You can see other places where I will visit, beyond these dates, here.

A Starred Kirkus Review!

I am thrilled with this review from Kirkus, particularly because the reviewer really saw what I was trying to do with An Untamed State. You can read the whole thing here but this is my favorite part:
Among the strongest achievements of this novel is that Mireille’s story feels complete and whole while emphasizing its essential brokenness. A cutting and resonant debut.

An Untamed Tour!

I am going on book tour in May and early June. Here is where you can come see me. We can talk about tiny baby elephants. Also, the BBC includes An Untamed State  as one of the ten best new books to read for spring! BOSTON, MA Monday, May 5 at 7:00pm Brookline Booksmith 279 Harvard St. http://www.brooklinebooksmith-shop.com/event/roxane-gay-untamed-state   BROOKLYN, NY Tuesday, May 6 at 7:00pm In Conversation with Sari Botton Community Bookstore of Park Slope Co-sponsored by Vol. 1 Brooklyn 143 7th Ave. http://communitybookstore.net/events/   NEW YORK, NY Wednesday, May 7 at 7:00pm In Conversation with Ruth Franklin McNally-Jackson Booksellers 52 Prince Street http://mcnallyjackson.com/event/2014/05/15/month/all/all/1   WASHINGTON, DC Thursday, May 8 at 7:00pm Politics and Prose 5015 Connecticut Ave. NW http://www.politics-prose.com/event/book/roxane-gay-untamed-state   PHILADELPHIA, PA Friday, May 9 at 8:00pm With Joseph Riippi, Samantha Irby, Mike Young, and Tara Murtha Tire Fire Reading Series The Tattooed Mom 530 South Street https://www.facebook.com/tirefire.readings   ONLINE EVENT Monday, May 12 at 7:00pm ET In conversation with Maud Newton Booktalk Nation 1521 Tenth Ave. http://booktalknation.com/book.html?author_id=191   MIAMI, FL Tuesday, May 13 at 8:00pm Books and Books 265 Aragon Ave in Coral Gables http://www.booksandbooks.com/event/roxane-gay-untamed-state-gables   CHICAGO, IL Wednesday, May 14 at 7:00pm The Book Cellar 4736 N. Lincoln Ave. http://www.bookcellarinc.com/event/roxane-gay-untamed-state   MILWAUKEE, WI Thursday, May 15 at 7:00pm Boswell Books 2559 N Downer Ave. http://boswell.indiebound.com/upcoming-events   DENVER, CO Saturday and Sunday, May 17-18 Lighthouse Writers Workshop Fly-By Writers Weekend www.lighthousewriters.org https://lighthousewriters.org/   AUSTIN, TX Monday, May 19 at 7:00pm Book People 603 North Lamar http://www.bookpeople.com/event/roxane-gay-untamed-state   DETROIT, MI Wednesday, May 21 at 8:00pm Literary Detroit Tangent Gallery 715 E Milwaukee St. http://literarydetroit.com/2013/04/22/book-events-2/   KALAMAZOO, MI Thursday, May 22 at 7:30pm Book Bug 3019 Oakland Dr. http://www.bookbugkalamazoo.com/events   LOS ANGELES, CA Monday, June 2 at 7:30pm Skylight Books 1818 N. Vermont Ave. http://www.skylightbooks.com/event/roxane-gay-reads-untamed-state   PORTLAND, OR Wednesday, June 4 at 7:30pm Powell’s Books – Burnside 1005 W Burnside St. http://www.powells.com/calendar/   SEATTLE, WA Thursday, June 5 at 7:00pm Elliott Bay Book Company 1521 Tenth Ave. http://www.elliottbaybook.com/event/2014/04/14/month/all/all/1  

New Look! New Books!

As you may have noticed, this website has a new look! Thanks go to Deborah Kim, who did the lovely design. I haven’t stopped blogging. I just do most of my personal blogging over on Tumblr. I’m going to use this space for book news. And speaking of book news, An Untamed State, out on May 6, received a starred review in Library Journal. Here is the best part: VERDICT Gay brilliantly writes of the story’s external events while skillfully capturing Mireille’s internal anguish. Not since Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s The Yellow Wallpaper has an author so effectively captured the descent into mental instability. Other book news, very soon!